Farm Flor by Graft Cidery
Beers of the Week, Reviews

Beers of the Week – Vol. 1

I have realized that I come across far too many noteworthy beers to do a full writeup of each (even if they do deserve it!).  To address this, I will start doing a weekly review of the week past, highlighting some of my favorite brews that I’ve come across.  This weekend as a special one, that featured a cellared bomber party that will get its own post.  Here are some noteworthy craft beers that I tried last week:

 

Hibiscus Gose by Boulevard Brewing:  This was the first time I’ve seen a bona fide PINK beer that was still good.  This was a tasty gose with a unique twist.

Boulevard Hibiscus Gose
Boulevard Hibiscus Gose

Citra Splendor by Manor Hill (a local Maryland brewery!):  This double IPA should contain a warning label – “CAUTION – THIS CITRA WILL SLAP YOU IN THE FACE.”  Upon cracking the 16oz can open, the Citra was so bright it could blind.  Delicious DIPA that if you see it and don’t buy it, I’ll probably judge you.

Citra Splendor
Citra Splendor

Genesis Dry Hopped Session Ale by SHMALTZ HE’BREWing:  Picked this up when passing through upstate New York a few months ago and finally got around to it.  This is a brewery that should be on all North East beer lovers lists – they make some awesome beer.  This highly flavorful session is no exception.  L’chaim!

Genesis Dry Hopped Session
Genesis Dry Hopped Session

Lager of the Lakes by Bell’s Brewing:  Bell’s is one of my favorite breweries, and I hadn’t had the chance to try this one until I stumbled upon it at my local beer store this week.  Turns out they just added it to their shelf last week.  This is a true Czech-style pilsner that I wish came in 12 pack cans for hot summer days.  Its not over the top (which is a huge compliment in this context).

Lager of the Lakes
Lager of the Lakes

SeaQuench Ale Session Sour by Dogfish Head:  This is a beer I saw once or twice but missed out on buying some.  Luckily, my friend saved me one and brought it over.  I was a tad disappointed it wasn’t as sour as I had hoped, but it was good nonetheless.  The beer has a cool story behind it with ties to the Baltimore National Aquarium.

Sea Quench Sour Ale
Sea Quench Sour Ale

And the winner of the week is…

Farm Flor Rustic Cider by Graft Cidery:  I had never heard of Graft Cidery prior to my trip to Bethesda a few weeks ago.  I found this can in a mix of a build-your-own 6 pack deals in a bottle shop in Bethesda.  I’m not a huge cider guy, but I love trying unique sounding brews.  I’m sure glad I did – this stuff is one of the best beverages I’ve ever had – a perfect blend of sour and sweet, a truly unique experience.  I hope this company keeps adding to their distribution (they are NY-based) because they have a dedicated customer here in Maryland.  Bravo!  I hope to get a few of their offerings and do a full Beer for Thought on what they are doing with ciders!

Farm Flor by Graft Cidery
Farm Flor by Graft Cidery
Leave a Reply

